Major League – ‘There’s Nothing Wrong With Me’

By  | 

Major League has been through so much over the last year from losing a member to touring all over the world promoting

their first album, ‘Hard Feelings’. Fortunately, nothing stopped the New Jersey natives from creating their sophomore album

‘There’s Nothing Wrong With Me’, which will be released on Nov. 4. The now quartet have decided to up the ante for this

album, and reach into the very depths of their souls to give fans the best album they possibly can. Producer Will Yip, who has

worked with bands like Title Fight and The Wonder Years, helped the band explore and utilize their inner thoughts for these

songs. Although it may have been hard for lead vocalist and guitarist Brian Joyce to open up about some of the songs topics at

first, the band believes these tracks have given them the personality they need to set themselves apart from the rest.


The album begins with the song ‘Wallflower’. From the get-go, the song has a very heavy drum influence, making it known

that this song is about a hard time. The lead vocalist and guitarist Brian Joyce hints about his parents divorce, and how it

affected him. The next song, ‘Graves’, starts off with only Joyce’s strong voice stating, “We’re all the same/In six foot graves”.

Again with the heavy drum influence, this track is a bit more morbid with lyrics like “I don’t believe in rest in piece”. The third

track on the album, ‘Pillow Talk’, picks up with the guitars, and adds more of a pop-punk influence to this somewhat heavy

album. This is definitely one of my favorite tracks on the album. ‘Kaleidoscopes’ introduces the fast pace guitars, and is a little

bit lighter, as far as music goes. With hints of heavy guitar licks and some pace changes, this song is definitely the easiest to

bob your head to.


One of the heavier tracks, ‘Just As I Am’, begins with a constant beating of the drum, with an addition of an eerie electric

guitar riffs that might make your hair stand on end. When Joyce’s vocals join in, you become a bit more comfortable with the

song. The lyrics: “I should have died along with you/It’s a shame that my name carries weight here” expose Joyce’s struggles

with himself and the environment he was in at one time in his life. ‘Montreal’, the albums only acoustic song, is an apology to

Joyce mom about the way he used to act when he was younger. His raspy and strong vocals add so much

emotion to the track; it’s a bit of a tearjerker.


The seventh track, ‘Little Eyes’ starts off a bit softer with light drumbeats and guitar rhythms. In this song, Joyce tells the

story of a loved one, better known as ‘Little Eyes’ who has fallen ill, and is in the hospital. As the beat and rhythm pick up,

Joyce expresses how his family is cursed, and it seems to be getting worse. ‘Recovery’ begins with the lead guitar with the

addition of the rhythm guitar soon after. The song picks up its ‘punk’ side once the drums start. This song isn’t necessarily a

head bobber, but you’ll get a better understanding of how Joyce feels as he is recovering from these hardships.


As the album is coming to an end, ‘Devil’s Advocate’ and ‘Bruiser, pick up the pace again, and you hear the pop-punk

influence a bit more. The final track on the album, ‘Rittenhouse’, shows the softer side of the band in the beginning, with light

guitar riffs. Joyce’s voice is less stern in this track, creating the sense that he is done putting up a wall, and feels so much

better about letting it all out. ‘There’s Nothing Wrong With Me’ is a great album all the way through. It’s inconsistency,

musicality wise, makes you want to listen to more. If the heavy drums and guitars don’t make you want to listen, just take the

time to understand the lyrics. I can’t wait to see how this album does, and best of luck to the band!