Lauren Jauregui Takes Full Control With Solo Debut Prelude

By  | 

Fans had been patiently waiting for the first solo effort of The X Factor alumni Lauren Jauregui for a long time, and the time for Prelude has finally come.

The singer had first touched on the subject in a December 2019 interview with Billboard, promising she was taking her time in order to fully craft her sound and art.

“I’m so proud of the way that I’ve been able to articulate my point of view. I’m emo, so you’re gonna get some deep, dark lyrics from my soul, but some bops too… It’s gonna be really fun. I’m really excited to share it with the world, but I’m just kind of packaging everything and still finishing up some songs.”

In the meantime, the 25-year-old had still given fans a peek at her universe, with singles like “Expectations,” “More Than That,” “Lento,” and “50ft,” all released between 2018 and 2020 through Sony Music Entertainment.

However, there was only one way for Jauregui to have full control over the way her sound was crafted and owned and it was to go independent. And so that’s what the singer did.

Now two years later, Prelude, the Cuban-American singer-songwriter’s debut solo EP, is ready and scheduled to be released on November 5, 2021, via her own independent label Attunement Records in partnership with distribution company AWAL.

Jauregui gave a first preview of the project on October 8, with the release of “Intro” and “Colors,” and again a week later with the release of “Scattered” featuring Vic Mensa.

True to her words, the singer also released a special visual performance of the EP on October 15 to go alongside the release. Co-directed with Matthew Daniel Siskin and produced by Moment House, the special global live stream performance featured Jauregui performing all the songs from Prelude for the first time on October 15.

As a last-minute gift to her fans, Jauregui also released her collaboration with 6lack titled “On Guard” on streaming platforms on November 3.

Jauregui will support her EP on a 6-date intimate tour stopping in New York, Chicago, Miami, Los Angeles and San Francisco. For more information, head to

Lauren Jauregui – PRELUDE Tracklist

  1. Intro
  2. Colors
  3. Scattered (ft. Vic Mensa)
  4. Falling
  5. On Guard (ft. 6lack)
  6. Don’t Wanna Say
  7. Sorry

30-year-old writer, photographer and design editor located in Bordeaux, France. I bring queer content everywhere I go :) Inquiries at